Why sometimes when I declare Mahjong and don't have enough points the system is telling me that I don’t have Mahjong and other times it penalizes me for Wrong Mahjong?

Q: Why sometimes when I declare Mahjong and don't have enough points the system is telling me that I don’t have Mahjong and other times it penalizes me for Wrong Mahjong?
A: The system will penalize you for declaring mahjong (either invalid claim for a discard or a Mahjong Self) in case your claim was invalid – a Wrong Mahjong. The penalty will not be taken if your rating at the moment of the claim was lower than the rating required for one green stripe on a white belt for that particular style (You can find the belts and the rating requirements for all the styles here. The penalties are various and can be found in the Rules sections of each style.

Example: You were playing an HK game and declared a Wrong Mahjong: You will be penalized if your rating was 6.04. If your rating would have been 4.16 – you wouldn’t have been penalized, but the system would have warned you that you don’t have Mahjong and wouldn’t have let you declare or claim a tile for mahjong.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk